Birgé - Clauss - Silhol

 


Jean-Jacques Birgé

http://www.drame.org

Born in 1952, Jean-Jacques Birgé is, at one and the same time, a music composer, sound designer, film director and multimedia author.

After studying cinema at the French National Film School (IDHEC), Jean-Jacques Birgé conceived a passion for sound and images, particularly due to their potentialities to produce sense.

In 1975 he set up the record label GRRR and in 1976 the orchestra named Un Drame Musical Instantané (with Bernard Vitet and Francis Gorgé). He composes for films (I.Barrère, D.Belloir, D.Cabrera, P.Desgraupes, P.Morize, F.Reichenbach, F.Romand, J.Rouxel, R.Sangla, M.Trillat, Cinemathèque Albert Kahn, Cité des Sciences et de l'Industrie...), ballets (J.Gaudin, K.Saporta...), photography (Arles), theater (Anne-Laure Liégeois), radio, books read aloud, and he has recorded 30 albums. On stage, he brought live music from silent movies into fashion (more than 26 creations) and he improvises or produces multimedia shows. He was nominated at the Victoires de la Musique for Le K with actor Richard Bohringer.

Concerning movies, twenty years after La nuit du phoque, he realized Vis à vis: Idir et Johnny Clegg a capella. He won a British Academy Award of Film & TV Arts and the Locarno Video Festival Jury Award in 1994, collectively, for Sarajevo, a street under siege, and his short movie The Sniper was shown in more than 1000 cinemas in France…

As a specialist in synthesis instruments, he is attracted by new technologies which involve unknown or iconoclastic objects. In parallel, he is a sound designer and a composer for exhibitions (Il était une fois la fête foraine at the Grande Halle de la Villette, The Extraordinary Museum in Japan, The Laying of the Hands in Amsterdam, Passerelle et L'argent in Belgium, Le Siècle Métro in Paris, Jours de Cirque in Monaco, French Pavillion at Aïchi International World Fair, Robots in Futuroscope...); for websites (BDDP-TBWA, Laurent-Perrier, Ville de Lyon, Compagnie Générale des Eaux, Numer, Determinism, Virtools, Adidas, Nike, Ptits Repères, Muséum National d'Histoire Naturelle, Musée de l'Immigration...); for CD-Rom (At the circus with Seurat, Fenêtre sur l'Art, Cahiers Passeport, Europrix 98, AZ, Firmenich, DVD-Rom Le Louvre, Le Grand Jeu, Sethi et la couronne d'Egypte, Mr Men series, Salto and Zelia, Domicile d'Ange Heureux...); or DVD 1+1, a natural story of sexuality (Möbius Sciences Award, International Möbius Jury Award, Europrix E-Learning Award); for games such as Le Bal (SACD Interactive Creation Award). He is a multimedia author of Carton (an enhanced-CD where an original game completes each song), Machiavel (an interactive video scratch created with Antoine Schmitt) and last, but not least, Alphabet, created with Murielle Lefèvre and Frédéric Durieu from the book by Kveta Pacovska (Grand Prix Möbius International, SACD Multimedia Award, Bologna Award of the Best Adaptation, and 13 other international awards in USA, Japan, France, Germany, the Nederlands...).

With this CD-Rom, he inaugurates a new direction of work based on generative and interactive creation, offering the gamer the pleasure of discovering each time a new interpretation (on-line and off-line). He collaborates regularly with lecielestbleu.com (with F. Durieu, SCAM Award of the Best Internet Site, NarrowCast Content Award) and flyingpuppet.com (with N. Clauss, Centre Pompidou Flash Festival Special Award).
He signs Les Portes with Clauss, an intercative video installation, and Nabaz'mob with Antoine Schmitt, an opera for 100 Nabaztag rabbits for which he's also the sound design father.

He teaches and gives conferences: Ecole des Gobelins, INA, Paris VIII, Céci, IRCAM, Autograf, CNAM, ENJMIN, ENSCI, Arts Décos (Amiens and Strasbourg), Beaux-Arts (Quimper), Pôle Atlantique, MediaLab (Finland), IESAV (Lebanon), SMCQ (Canada), Femis (Germany), Pilots (Spain), etc.



Nicolas Clauss

http://www.nicolasclauss.com

Born in 1968. Nicolas Clauss, self-taught artist, stopped (provisory) painting in 2000 to do Web and multimedia projects. He is the co-founder of the site lecielestbleu.com, and created his own space, flyingpuppet.com, in 2001.

He has a master's degree in experimental and social psychology and a bachelor degree in arts and picture technologies (ATI). He has exhibited his pictures since 1989, in solo shows (Galerie Arnoux in Paris, Centre Culturel Français de Séoul and Seoul International Art Fair in Korea, Crawford Gallery, Beatty Gallery and Sidney Art Theater in Australia), and collectively (Grands et Jeunes d'Aujourd'hui et Réalités Nouvelles at the Grand Palais in Paris, Howard Leonard Gallery and Savah Gallery in Australia, Gana Art Center in Korea, etc.). He exhibited his first installation at the Espace Culturel du Prieuré in Maule.

In his multimedia works, he goes on building universes where the beautiful thickness of the paste does not overflow the transparent effects, and the movement of the mouse draws out the gesture of the painter. On Flying Puppet, he has conceived and realized over 50 on-line interactive pieces, often collaborating with musicians (Jean-Jacques Birgé of course, but also François Baxas, Denis Colin, Patricia Dallio, Pascale Labbé, Thomas Le Saulnier, Jean Morières, Hervé Zénouda).

Passionately fond of contemporary dance, he was nominated at the Möbius 2001 for Danse ! (DadaMedia) and created Soaring Steps for BBC-On-line, DeepSea and Temptation for Diesel clothes. During an artist residency at the ECM des Mureaux, following statements of immigrants, he realized the web site Cinq Ailleurs. Since then, he has multiplied the projects of that kind with children and teenagers, as well as pedagogical interventions around his work and conferences-performances (Centre Pompidou, Numer, Cité du Livre, ECM, Le Cube...).

He received the Centre Pompidou Flash Festival 2002 Special Award (Show: Interactive Dance), the SCAM Award of the Best Internet Site 2001-2002 for LeCielEstBleu, and the Net-Art Third Award at La Villette Numérique 2002. Flyingpuppet.com et cinq-ailleurs.com were Macromedia Sites of the Day.
He signs Les Portes with Birgé, an intercative video installation.

His work is shown in exhibitions and sites in France (Incident.net, Provisoire.net, VidéoFormes, Le Cube, La Friche Belle de Mai, Arte.tv), America (Rhizome.org, Turbulence.org, ComputerFineArts.com, PixelPress.org, Revue digitale Chair-et-métal, Naqoyqatsi / Miramax, ATHICA / Athens Institute of Contemporary Art, SoftForm / Toronto Propeller Gallery, Boston Center for the Arts / 404, Argentina / File, Brazil / Tamayo Museum, Mexico...), Germany (A Virtual Museum, Java Museum, Free Manifesta), Switzerland (Festival VIPER Basel), Great Britain (Digital Pocket Gallery, Liberarti), Holland (MAFF), Korea (Hexa Media Festival), Czechia (Violens Festival Tabor), Turquey (Istanbul Contemporary Art Museum)...

Since Somnambules he has created many new participative artworks (websites and more and more installations) : jai10ans.com, delartsijeveux.com, L'ardoise, Un palpitant, Or not toupie, Les musiciens...


Didier Silhol

Born in 1948, Didier Silhol danced first with Joseph Russillo, then at Free Dance Song (with Annick Nozati, Christiane de Rougemont, Hideyuki Yano, Elsa Wolliaston, Harry Sheppard). He studied classical dance with Andreï Glegolski, and Cunningham technics with Charles Moulton and Robert Kovitch. In 1978, he met Lisa Nelson and Steve Paxton during a course of Danse Contact Improvisation.

In 1980, he co-founded the Association Danse Contact Improvisation and began to teach this technique and dance approach. He plays for several companies (Odile Duboc, Stéphanie Aubin, Jean-Claude Gallotta, Christiane Blaise, Geneviève Sorin, etc.).

A choreographer since 1978, he works with musicians and art designers: Emotion en péril, for three dancers and one double-bass player, 1994 - Noir sans être nu, solo and film, 1995 - Midi-Minuit, a 12 hour performance for eight dancers at Fondation Cartier, 1996 - Sans cesse, opera-ballet with sixty people in social trouble and forty musicians (music by Thomas Gubitsch) in Le Mans, 1996 - Le Piège de Méduse for the opening of the Musée Erik Satie, 1998 - Tu le vois le voleur, duo, 1999 - Zoo Musique, an interpretation of the play by Jacques Rebotier for 17 musicians et 1 dancer, 1999-2003 - Creation for the Paris CNR Diploma, 2000 - Au lieu dit la mi-temps, quintet, 2001…

He has organized performances in France, Canada, Portugal, Italy, and an experimental film festival at the Ménagerie de Verre with Yann Beauvais.

He teaches at the Conservatoire National Supérieur de Musique et de Danse in Paris.

He also creates experimental films (Entre amis, 1992 - Rue de larme et d’eau riante, 1996 - L’instant T, 1997).

Birgé - Clauss - Silhol

 


Jean-Jacques Birgé

http://www.drame.org

Né en 1952, Jean-Jacques Birgé est à la fois compositeur de musique, designer sonore, réalisateur de films, auteur multimédia et écrivain.

Après ses études à l'IDHEC, Jean-Jacques Birgé se passionne pour le son et l'image, et particulièrement pour leur potentiel à produire du sens.

En 1975 il fonde le label de disques GRRR et en 1976 le groupe Un Drame Musical Instantané (avec Bernard Vitet et Francis Gorgé). Il compose pour le cinéma (I.Barrère, D.Belloir, D.Cabrera, P.Desgraupes, P.O.Lévy, P.Morize, F.Reichenbach, F.Romand, J.Rouxel, R.Sangla, M.Trillat, Cinémathèque Albert Kahn, Cité des Sciences et de l'Industrie...), la danse (J.Gaudin, K.Saporta...), la photographie (Arles), le théâtre (Anne-Laure Liégeois...), la radio, la littérature lue à haute voix, et enregistre une trentaine d'albums. Sur scène il interprète la musique de films muets (26 au répertoire) aussi bien qu'il improvise ou produit des spectacles multimédia. Pour Le K avec Richard Bohringer il est nominé aux Victoires de la Musique.

Au cinéma, vingt ans après La nuit du phoque, il réalise Vis à vis : Idir et Johnny Clegg a capella. Il obtient un British Academy Award et le Prix du Jury du Festival de Locarno 1994 à titre collectif pour Sarajevo : a street under siege, tandis que le court-métrage Le sniper est projeté dans 1000 salles de cinéma.

Spécialiste des instruments de synthèse, il est attiré par les nouvelles technologies qui permettent d'inventer des objets inouïs ou iconoclastes. Parallèlement à son travail de designer sonore et de compositeur pour des expositions (Il était une fois la fête foraine à la Grande Halle de la Villette, The Extraordinary Museum au Japon, The Laying of the Hands à Amsterdam, Passerelle et L'argent en Belgique, Le Siècle Métro pour la RATP, Jours de Cirque à Monaco, Pavillon français de l'Expo Universelle d'Aïchi, Les Robots au Futuroscope de Poitiers...), des sites web (BDDP-TBWA, Laurent-Perrier, Ville de Lyon, Compagnie Générale des Eaux, Rencontres Numer, Determinism, Virtools, Adidas, Nike, Ptits Repères, Muséum National d'Histoire Naturelle, Musée de l'Immigration...), des CD-Rom (Au cirque avec Seurat, Fenêtre sur l'Art, Cahiers Passeport, Europrix 98, AZ et Firmenich tous deux Dauphin d'or à Communica, Le DVD-Rom du Louvre, Le Grand Jeu, Sethi et la couronne d'Egypte, Les Bonhommes et les Dames, AtoutPtitClic-Maternelle, Domicile d'Ange Heureux...), du DVD 1+1, une histoire naturelle de la sexualité (Prix Möbius Sciences, Prix du Jury Möbius International, Europrix E-Learning), du jeu Le Bal (Prix SACD de la Création Interactive), il s'affirme comme auteur multimédia avec Carton (CD-Extra où chaque chanson est complétée par un jeu original), Machiavel (scratch vidéo interactif réalisé avec Antoine Schmitt), enfin Alphabet, créé avec Murielle Lefèvre et Frédéric Durieu d'après le livre de Kveta Pacovska (Grand Prix Möbius International, Prix Multimédia SACD, Prix de la meilleure adaptation à Bologne, La Mention Spéciale au Salon du Livre de Jeunesse et 12 autres prix internationaux aux USA, Japon, Allemagne, Pays-Bas...).

Avec ce CD-Rom, il inaugure une nouvelle direction de travail axé sur l'écriture générative et interactive qui permet au joueur de découvrir chaque fois une nouvelle interprétation (on-line et off-line). Il collabore régulièrement aux sites de création lecielestbleu.com (avec F.Durieu, Prix SCAM du meilleur site Internet, NarrowCast Content Award) et flyingpuppet.com (avec N.Clauss, Prix du Centre Pompidou Flash Festival). Avec Clauss, il réalise une installation vidéo interactive, Les Portes, et avec Antoine Schmitt, Nabaz'mob, un opéra pour 100 lapins Nabaztag dont il est aussi le designer sonore.

Ses deux premiers romans, La corde à linge et USA 1968 deux enfants, sont des objets multimédia conçus pour tablettes.

Il enseigne et donne des conférences : Ecole des Gobelins, INA, Paris VIII, Paris 1, Autograf, Céci, IRCAM, CNAM, ENJMIN, ENSCI, Pôle Atlantique, Arts Décos de Paris, Amiens et Strasbourg, Beaux-Arts de Quimper, MediaLab (Finlande), IESAV (Liban), SMCQ (Québec), Femis (Allemagne), Pilots (Espagne), etc.


Nicolas Clauss

http://www.nicolasclauss.com

Né en 1968. Nicolas Clauss, peintre autodidacte, pose les pinceaux en 2000 pour se consacrer exclusivement à la toile du net et aux projets multimédia. Cofondateur du site lecielestbleu.com, il crée son propre espace de création, le site flyingpuppet.com en 2001.

En même temps qu'il obtient un DEA en psychologie sociale expérimentale et une licence en art et technologies de l'image (ATI), il expose ses tableaux dès 1989, seul (Galerie Arnoux à Paris, Centre Culturel Français de Séoul et Seoul International Art Fair en Corée, Crawford Gallery, Beatty Gallery et Sidney Art Theater en Australie) ou en collectif (Grands et Jeunes d'Aujourd'hui et Réalités Nouvelles au Grand Palais à Paris, Howard Leonard Gallery et Savah Gallery en Australie, Gana Art Center en Corée, etc.).

Dans ses travaux multimédia, il continue à fabriquer des univers où l'épaisseur de la croûte ne néglige pas pour autant les effets de transparence. Le mouvement de la souris y prolonge souvent le geste du peintre. Sur Flying Puppet, il conçoit et réalise plus de 50 modules interactifs on-line, souvent en collaboration avec des musiciens (Jean-Jacques Birgé, mais aussi François Baxas, Denis Colin, Patricia Dallio, Pascale Labbé, Thomas Le Saulnier, Jean Morières, Hervé Zénouda).
Passionné par la danse, il est nominé au Möbius 2001 pour Danse ! (DadaMedia) et crée Soaring Steps pour la BBC-On-line. Pour la marque de vêtements Diesel, ce sont les tableaux interactifs DeepSea et Temptation. Lors d'une résidence d'artiste à l'ECM des Mureaux, il réalise le projet web Cinq Ailleurs à partir de témoignages d'immigrés. Depuis, il multiplie les projets en résidence avec des enfants et des adolescents, les interventions pédagogiques autour de son travail à l'Ecole des Gobelins, dans de nombreux ECM (Espace Culture Multimédia) et des conférences-performances (Centre Pompidou, Numer, Cité du Livre d'Aix-en-Provence, Le Cube...).

Il reçoit le Prix Spécial du Centre Pompidou au Flash Festival 2002 (Spectacle : Danse interactive), le Grand Prix du meilleur site Internet 2001-2002 de la SCAM pour LeCielEstBleu, le Troisième Prix du concours de Net-art de la Villette Numérique 2002. Flyingpuppet.com et cinq-ailleurs.com sont nommés Macromedia Site of the Day.
Avec Birgé, il réalise une installation vidéo interactive, Les Portes.

Son travail est montré dans des expositions et en ligne, en France (PlayTime / Villette Numérique, Incident.net, Provisoire.net, VidéoFormes, Le Cube, La Friche Belle de Mai, Arte.tv...), en Amérique (Rhizome.org, Turbulence.org, ComputerFineArts.com, Boston Center for the Arts, PixelPress.org, Revue digitale Chair-et-métal, Naqoyqatsi / Miramax, ATHICA / Athens Institute of Contemporary Art, SoftForm / Toronto Propeller Gallery / Musée d'Art Contemporain Tamayo, Mexique / 404, Argentine / File, Brésil...), en Allemagne (A Virtual Museum, Java Museum, Free Manifesta...), aux Pays-Bas (MAFF), en Suisse (Festival VIPER Basel), en Angleterre (Digital Pocket Gallery, Liberarti), en Corée (Hexa Media Festival), en Tchéquie (Violens Festival Tabor), en Turquie (Istanbul Contemporary Art Museum)...

Depuis Somnambules il a réalisé de nombreuses œuvres participatives (sites et installations) : jai10ans.com, delartsijeveux.com, L'ardoise, Un palpitant, Or not toupie, Les musiciens...


Didier Silhol

Né en 1948, Didier Silhol débute chez Joseph Russillo, puis à Free Dance Song (avec Annick Nozati, Christiane de Rougemont, Hideyuki Yano, Elsa Wolliaston, Harry Sheppard). Il étudie la danse classique avec AndreIï Glegolski, et la technique Cunningham avec Charles Moulton et Robert Kovitch. En 1978, il rencontre Lisa Nelson et Steve Paxton lors d'un stage de Danse Contact Improvisation.

En 1980, il est cofondateur de l'Association Danse Contact Improvisation et commence à enseigner cette technique et approche de la danse.Il intervient pour différentes compagnies (Odile Duboc, Stéphanie Aubin, Jean-Claude Gallotta, Christiane Blaise, Geneviève Sorin, etc.).

Chorégraphe depuis 1978, il travaille avec des musiciens et des plasticiens : Emotion en péril, pour trois danseurs et une contrebassiste, 1994 - Noir sans être nu, solo et film, 1995 - Midi-Minuit, performance de douze heures pour huit danseurs à la Fondation Cartier, 1996 - Sans cesse, ballet-opéra avec soixante participants en difficulté sociale et quarante musiciens (musique de Thomas Gubitsch) au Mans, 1996 - Le Piège de Méduse pour la création du Musée Erik Satie, 1998 - Tu le vois le voleur, duo, 1999 - Zoo Musique, interprétation de la pièce de Jacques Rebotier pour 17 musiciens et 1 danseur, 1999-2003 - Création pour le Diplôme du CNR de Paris, 2000 - Au lieu dit la mi-temps, quintette, 2001.

Il organise des performances en France, au Canada, au Portugal, en Italie, ainsi qu'un festival de cinéma expérimental à la Ménagerie de Verre avec Yann Beauvais.

Il enseigne au Conservatoire National Supérieur de Musique et de Danse de Paris.

Il réalise également des films expérimentaux (Entre amis, 1992 - Rue de larme et d'eau riante, 1996 - L'instant T, 1997).